The health and safety of our patients and teammates is our top priority. We are keeping a close eye on this situation and reinforcing the extensive infection control practices already in place to protect them. Click here to find videos and additional resources.
Eating Gluten-free on a Kidney Diet
By DaVita dietitian guest blogger Kristin MacDonald, MS, RD, LDN
Following a kidney-friendly diet can be a challenge. When a patient already has other diet restrictions it can be even harder to find healthy and tasty foods. One type of diet restriction that some patients may have is the need to eat gluten-free.
What is gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat and some other grains, such as barley and rye. Gluten is also found in malt.
What is a gluten-free diet?
Someone following a gluten-free diet excludes and avoids all potential sources of the protein gluten.
Who needs to eat gluten-free?
A gluten-free diet is the only treatment for people with Celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder in which eating gluten causes the body to mount an immune system attack on the small intestine. When this happens, the small intestine becomes damaged and cannot absorb nutrients properly. Approximately 1 in 100 people worldwide have Celiac disease.
Some people may experience non-celiac gluten sensitivity. If a person has been tested for Celiac disease and is negative, but still experiences symptoms related to eating gluten, he or she may have gluten sensitivity. Gluten sensitive people may feel better, finding relief from various symptoms, when following a gluten-free diet.
It is estimated that 18 million Americans have gluten sensitivity, six times the number of people who have Celiac disease. New information about gluten sensitivity is still being discovered, so talk to your health care provider for the most up-to-date information.
Eating gluten-free on the renal diet
For patients and their family members, combining two sets of restrictions, such as the gluten-free and renal diets, may feel overwhelming at first. One piece of advice – focus on what you CAN eat!
Patients on dialysis should focus on eating good sources of protein including all plain, cooked eggs and any fresh, plain and untreated meat, fish, shellfish or poultry. Avoid sauces, gravies, breaded, self-basting, cured or imitation meats, as these may contain gluten. If you are not currently on dialysis, talk to your doctor about how much protein you should eat.
Good starch choices include white rice, rice pasta or noodles, corn and potatoes (double boil potatoes to reduce potassium content). You can also find gluten-free breads – check with your dietitian for phosphorus content and recommendations.
Any plain, fresh or frozen low potassium fruits and vegetables are good options. Once again, avoid gravies and sauces that may contain gluten.
If a food is not labeled “gluten-free” always read the ingredient list and avoid foods that contain wheat, barley, rye, malt or oats (unless specified gluten-free oats).
Another consideration for the patient with kidney disease and on a gluten-free diet involves medication. Often patients with kidney disease take multiple medications. Some medications may contain gluten. If a medication contains gluten, this may not be clearly marked on the label. Check with your pharmacist to determine if your medications are gluten-free.
If you have to eat gluten-free and follow a kidney friendly diet, talk to your dietitian for meal and snack ideas. With some tweaking, your favorite recipe could be made gluten-free and kidney friendly!
Additional Kidney Diet Resources
Visit DaVita.com and explore these diet and nutrition resources:
This article is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for medical advice or treatment. Consult your physician and dietitian regarding your specific diagnosis, treatment, diet and health questions.